Editing Worksheet pt. 6   1 comment


Character Voice

  •     The characters don’t talk too much. No pointless dialogue.
  •     The “voice” of my characters are consistent throughout the story.
  •     The characters don’t sound like each other.
  •     The characters don’t sound like the author.
  •     The dialogue matches the age and experience of the character.
  •     Is every bit of dialogue as interesting and well-written as possible?
  •     The characters use contractions.
  •     Is there a chance that the slang my characters use may soon be dated?
  •     There is no Q&A dialogue.
  •     The characters speak with subtext.

Author Voice

  •     I don’t condescend to my audience.
  •     I don’t lecture the reader (exposition).
  •     The viewpoint of my story is consistent (inside the action; actively involved in plot).
  •     There is very little jargon or “trendy” speech.
  •     I don’t replace “said” with other words.
  •     I have double-checked every fact that was written.
  •     The writing is crystal clear.
  •     I have checked for repetition in language.
  •     I have checked to make sure I don’t use the same word too often.
  •     I have proofread and checked for typos.
  •     I have checked for material, quotes, titles, lyrics and anything else that might be copyrighted.
Posted August 13, 2012 by Elizabeth Huff in General Writing

One response to “Editing Worksheet pt. 6

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: The Art of Dialogue « the daily creative writer

Tell Me What You Think!

