The Lost Colony   9 comments


The Lost Colony of Roanoke is another strange occurrence to be used as writing fodder.  Again, this is only a brief summary and I encourage you to look up the full details if you are interested.

The Roanoke Colony was an attempt to establish a permanent English settlement in the late 16th-century. The group disappeared during the Anglo-Spanish War, when upheaval made it impossible for the group to receive supplies from England for about 3 years. Their fate has never been determined. During the colony’s brief existence there was much hostilities between the colonists and the natives, and alot of political unrest. Supplies dwindled and their was little to know support from England. Many speculate that most of the settlers were absorbed into the surrounding tribes of Native Americans.

Strange Facts About The Case:

  • There was no sign of struggle or battle at the settlement.
  • The word “croatoan” was carved into a post of the fort.
  • The word “Cro” was carved into a nearby tree.
  • Their departure had not been hurried They had dismantled all the houses and fortifications.
Posted June 28, 2012 by Elizabeth Huff in Inspiration

Tagged with , , ,

9 responses to “The Lost Colony

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Naturally I like your web-site, even so you need to have to check the spelling on several of your posts. A lot of of them are rife with spelling troubles and I uncover it quite silly to inform you. On the other hand I will surely come once again once again! 118132

  2. I wish I had a dime for every bad write-up Ive read lately. I also wish other writers had your talent and style. Thank you. 882095

  3. hello very good internet site i will definaely come back and see once again. 98582

  4. I just added this weblog to my rss reader, superb stuff. I like your writing style. 93724

  5. I really enjoyed reading this site, this is great blog. 442545

  6. I genuinely thankful to uncover this internet site on bing, just what I was seeking for : D too bookmarked . 249909

  7. I dugg some of you post as I thought they were handy quite valuable 262064

Tell Me What You Think!

