Story Worksheet   14 comments


Like the character worksheet, the story worksheet is helpful to keep on track if you step away from the story for awhile. It’s good for people who don’t like to outline, because it answers the major questions without getting into much detail. If you like to outline, like me, it is helpful to do this worksheet first. The worksheet will allow you to better plan the form your outline should take. Each question is like a benchmark your story should hit. If one or more is missing you may need to re-evaluate how your story is coming along.

 

  • What is your main character’s goal? (There should be an outer goal that the character wants, and an inner goal that the character needs)
  • What is the Big Event?
  • What is the Crisis?
  • What is the Catalyst?
  • Who/What is your character’s main opposition?
  • What is the central dramatic question? (It should be a yes or no question and can be as simple as “Will Frodo be able to destroy the ring?”)
  • What is the Pinch?
  • What is the final setback?
  • What is the overall theme of your story? (There may be many, but there should be one main one.)

For more information about the terms in this worksheet check out the Basic Story Outline.

14 responses to “Story Worksheet

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. great post

  2. thanks! check out the recommended reading page for books and websites with more helpful info.

  3. I have been reading out many of your posts and i must say clever stuff. I will definitely bookmark your site.

  4. I have been reading out a few of your posts and i can claim pretty nice stuff. I will make sure to bookmark your blog.

  5. You are a very smart individual!

  6. Definitely, what a great website and educative posts, I surely will bookmark your website.Have an awsome day!

  7. Very efficiently written information. It will be supportive to anyone who utilizes it, including myself. Keep up the good work – for sure i will check out more posts.

  8. Magnificent goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely magnificent. I really like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you’re saying and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it sensible. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is really a wonderful website.

  9. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

  10. I’m still learning from you, while I’m making my way to the top as well. I certainly love reading all that is posted on your site.Keep the posts coming. I loved it!

  11. I have been checking out a few of your articles and i must say pretty nice stuff. I will definitely bookmark your website.

  12. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

  13. You are a very capable individual!

Tell Me What You Think!

