Salaries For Writers   5 comments


by Elizabeth Huff

 

Who says you can’t make a living writing? If you’re feeling down here are some stats that might pick you up. A few years ago I looked up several career that are writing oriented to see how much you can make. What can I say, I’m very much a material kind of girl. Anyway, most of these are the median amount for entry level positions. Some, like novelist, depend on how successful you are. Most are out of date (I did do this a while ago). It should however give you some insight into what writing can get you. I believe most of these figures came from salary.com and simplyhired.com.

Grants/Proposal Writer: $55,917

Specifications Writer: $49,773

Speech Writer: $76,476

Technical Writer (entry level): $45,405

Web Content Writer*: $77,739

Desktop Publishing Operator: $40,034

Script Reader: $34,200

Screenwriter**: $26,125

Lyricist: $81,000

Novelist: $48,000

Poet: $56,000

Author: $62,000

Ad Copy: $57,000

Commercial Writer: $54,000

Word Processor: $37,000

Abstracter: $30,000

Resume Writer: $48,000

*I had originally written down 3 separate values for this, so I looked it up again. This salary is from salary.com.

**I’m not sure what type of screen writing this is for, but my best guess would be an entry level writer for television.

 

The last several jobs end in suspiciously even numbers, but I’m not sure why. Are there any other jobs that have to do with writing where you can make a decent living? Do you have an updated salary for any of these? Please leave a comment and let me know.

Posted April 22, 2012 by Elizabeth Huff in Education, General Writing

Tagged with , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Salaries For Writers

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think this is a much needed post for all the aspiring writers out there (including myself!). Thanks for sharing, and the wide range of writing jobs you have there, I hadn’t even considered some of them.

    • Thanks! I believe at the time I was looking into writing careers that I wouldn’t have to wait a year or more to cash in on (like a traditional novelist). Not that I didn’t want to write a masterpiece, but I got bills y’know! Glad you liked it.

  2. Hi my loved one! I wish to say that this article is awesome, nice written and include approximately all significant infos. I’d like to see extra posts like this .

  3. Great website, thanks “cigar aficionado forum

  4. Very nice site, thanks for share this article with us

Tell Me What You Think!

